Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Charles
    • Feb 2008

Why a Wall?

Why do we do zazen staring at a wall? I know that Dogen's instructions for zazen say (or at least intimate) to do this, but does he anywhere give an explanation of why the practice is done like this?

What prompts this question is reading about Buddha having sat underneath a tree, thus presumably outdoors. Things must have been moving in his field of vision. And things are always moving. Even when I'm sitting in front of a wall, my heart is beating, I'm breathing, blood is flowing...things are in constant motion. So why do we practice in such a way as to 'artificially' create a field of vision in which there is no motion?

So: what's up with the wall?

(Sorry if there's a very obvious answer to this that I'm missing; I'm really new at this, please bear with me.)

--Charles
  • Gregor
    • Apr 2007

Sensory deprivation
    Jukai '09 Dharma Name: Shinko 慎重(Prudent Calm)

Comment

• Jun
      • Jun 2007

So the story goes, Bodaidaruma sat in meditation facing the wall of his cave.

Not every Zen practitioner faces a wall, some Sõtõ-shu groups do not, Rinzai-shu does not, my own little group does not.

Facing a wall or facing the world is no different.
      Gassho
      Jun
      The life and teachings of Suzuki Shõsan Rõshi - http://kongoshin.blogspot.com/

Comment

• Keishin
        • Jun 2007

Hello Charles and Gregor
        What a fantastic question. I was blown away--all these years sitting and I've never asked this question!
        The wall gazing comes to us from Bodhidharma, who brought the Dharma from India to China and became the first Chinese Patriarch.
        In other words, it's Bodhidharma's wall, not Gautama Buddha's wall.
        When you think about it, a wall makes beautiful sense and is an elegant and simple solution for a practice easy to take with you no matter where you go or find yourself.
        What is the closest thing to closing your eyes without closing them?