Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Aucoinj
    • Jan 2021

Holidays

I am new to all of this. I’ve found refuge here & sit zazen as will as lending a hand. I’d like to take my practice a little deeper though. Most (if not all) people commentate certain occasions & holidays. What Buddhist holidays are celebrated & what is the best way to celebrate them?
    Gassho
    Jen [tranquility]
  • Jundo
    Treeleaf Founder and Priest
    • Apr 2006

Originally posted by Aucoinj
    I am new to all of this. I’ve found refuge here & sit zazen as will as lending a hand. I’d like to take my practice a little deeper though. Most (if not all) people commentate certain occasions & holidays. What Buddhist holidays are celebrated & what is the best way to celebrate them?
    Hi Jen,

Do you have kids? A few years ago, we made a special page with some ideas for Rohatsu and, this time of year, Flower Festival/Vesak ...

I am not sure how popular the idea has become in western Buddhism of making such family holidays, but many Sangha are trying (some even merge traditional Japanese "Obon" with Halloween! ). I have never found there was much interest among our members in engaging with these holidays as children's events, but I keep hoping!

Of course, besides activities for kids, we also celebrate with Zazen here at Treeleaf, such as our annual Rohatsu retreat:

TREELEAF SANGHA online 2-DAY ANGO-JUKAI-ROHATSU RETREAT -- 2021
    Dear All, A few years back, some of our Treeleaf Sangha members requested a day to remember those who had passed from this world among family and friends ... February is a time of Memorial & Celebration for NEHAN-E (Parinirvana Gathering), the traditional day to mark the historical Buddha's death and passing from this